1983 Kamioka Underground Observatory was established.
1983 Jul. Kamiokande experiment started observation.
1985 Kamiokande denied the simplest GUT as a result of proton decay search.
1987 Feb. Kamiokande succeeded in detecting neutrinos from a supernova explosion.
1988 Kamiokande observed a solar neutrino deficit.
1991 Dec. The construction of Super-Kamiokande (SK) was started.
1994 Jan. The construction of a computer building was completed.
1994 Jun. The excavation for the SK detector was finished.
1995 Apr. Kamioka Observatory which belongs to the Institute for Cosmic Ray Research(ICRR), was established.
1996 Apr. SK experiment started observation.
1998 Jun. SK discovered the atmospheric neutrino oscillation.
1999 Jun. The long baseline neutrino oscillation experiment; K2K started.
2001 Jun. SK discovered the solar neutrino oscillation.
2001 Jul. SK started replacement of several hundred nonfunctional PMTs.
2001 Nov. After replacement work, half of the PMTs were destroyed by a chain reaction
2002 Dec. The Nobel prize in Physics was awarded to Professor Koshiba as a consequence of the major scientific results obtained at Kamiokande.
2002 Dec. SK started observation with about 5200 inner detector PMTs.
2004 Jun. K2K experiment confirmed the neutrino oscillation.
2004 Nov. K2K experiment was finished.
2005 Oct. The new PMTs were almost ready, the full reconstruction work began.
2006 Jul. SK started observation with full complement of PMTs.
2008 Oct. XMASS experiment started to construct the water shield tank.
2008 Sep. The new data acquisition system of SK was installed.
2009 Apr. The T2K experiment was started, the first off-axis neutrino oscillation experiment.
2011 Jun. Discovery of electron neutrino appearance in the T2K experiment
2012 Jul. Proton decay lifetime limit published by SK exceeds 1034 years.
2013 Jul. Measurement of electron neutrino appearance in the T2K experiment.
2015 Nov. 2016 Breakthrough Prize in Fundamental Physics awarded to Prof. Y. Suzuki, Prof. T. Kajita and SK Collaborators, and Prof. K. Nishikawa and K2K/T2K Collaborators.
2015 Dec. The 2015 Nobel Prize in Physics awarded Prof. Takaaki Kajita.
2016 Jul. The T2K experiment represented the first CP violation search result.

Higashi-Mozumi 456, Kamioka-cho, Hida-city Gifu 506-1205, Japan

0578-85-2116, 0578-85-9620 (Office)

0578-85-2121, 0578-85-9640